About Irish Red Cross Youth

Home  youth  about irish Red Cross Youth

Our Youth department

Sandra Stanley – Head of National Services

Catriona Finn – National Youth Development Officer

You can contact any of the staff on youth@redcross.ie or 01 642 4600

National Youth Working Group

This group is one of several groups reporting to the Borard of the Irish Red Cross. It was established under the society's Youth Charter to aid development of Irish Red Cross Youth and support its role n achieving the mission of the International Red Cross Movement. 

One of the group's key functions is to identify major concerns of your people and recommend action as appropriate. It does this by supporting the personal growth of Irish Red Cross Youth members and in turn, your people generally. 

It manages partnerships and programmes to achieve this aim which reflects the Seven Fundamental Principles of the Red Cross: Humanity, Impartiality, Neutrality, Independence, Voluntary Service and Unity.

This group also works closely with other working groups that are part of the Irish Red Cross governance structures. Its relationship with the Irish Red Cross Safeguarding Committee is of particular importance. The chair of the National Youth Working Group is the National Director of Youth who is appointed by the Board of the Irish Red Cross. 

Members of the current Youth Working Group (2019-2021):

Bernie Rutherford – Donegal, Chair & National Director of Youth

Jennie White – Cork, Vice Chair

Philip Dorian – Meath, National Youth Representative

Tom Doyle - Dublin Borough, Regional Director of Youth for Dublin Mid-Leinster

Caitriona Ryan – Dublin Borough, Regional Director of Youth for Dublin North-East

Emma Brennan – Cork, Regional Director of Youth for South

Kevin Brennan - Cork

Geraldine Cronin- Cork

Ryan Hayes – Meath

Ronan Gannon – Mayo, Area Director of Youth for Mayo

Lorna Costelloe – Meath, Area Director of Youth for Meath

Jessica Cox – Galway, Area Director of Youth for Galway

Emily Guilfoyle – Limerick

Caoimhe McLaughlin – Donegal, Area Director of Youth for Donegal

You can contact any member of the National Youth Working Group by emailing youth@redcross.ie

Youth Representative

The Youth Representative acts as a voice for youth and communicates decisions made at General Assembly (GA) and National Youth Working Group (NYWG) directly to youth members.

The current Youth Representative (2018 - 2020) is Philip Dorian.

You can contact Philip Dorian in his role as Youth Representative by emailing youthrep@redcross.ie.